2491 Winchester Rd., Memphis, TN 38116
+1 901 922 8000

Airport Authority promotes Michael Fulton to Director of Government Affairs and Business Diversity Development

Michael Fulton

MEMPHIS, TENN. (July 7, 2021) – Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority (MSCAA) has promoted Michael Fulton to the position of Director of Government Affairs and Business Diversity Development.

In his new role, Fulton is responsible for the overall leadership of MSCAA’s Business Diversity Development (BDD) functions, which are designed to increase opportunities for minority-owned, woman-owned, and local small businesses. Fulton is also responsible for managing the governmental affairs functions for the airport, maintaining relationships with government officials or their key staff and providing oversight of local, state and federal initiatives. He will report to MSCAA President and CEO Scott Brockman and his promotion was effective on July 1, 2021. Fulton joined MSCAA in June 2017 as Government Affairs Director.

“Michael has been an integral part of the MSCAA leadership team for more than four years,” said Scott Brockman, MSCAA President and CEO. “We will rely heavily on his expertise to lead our government affairs and BDD initiatives, which are essential to fueling local economic growth.”  

Fulton has more than 14 years of experience in government and government affairs, including serving as Senior Legislative Assistant for U.S. Congressman Steve Cohen. As the Congressman’s primary advisor on the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee work, Fulton provided strategic guidance on aviation, highway, transit and rail policy.

He is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State University, where he received a Bachelor of Liberal Arts degree in Political Science. Fulton serves on several local boards including the Memphis Area Transit Authority (MATA), Seeding Success, and the Government Affairs and Regional Logistics Council for the Greater Memphis Chamber of Commerce. In 2018, he was selected by Memphis Business Journal as one of its “Top 40 Under 40” honorees.